Minnesota State Wins Conference Title – Final 6 Set

NSIC Logo

Winona State split with Concordia today while Minnesota State swept St. Cloud State which means the Mavericks win the Northern Sun Conference regular season title.  Congratulations are in order but judging by comments made by many on this board in the comments over the past few days, many other programs may not be quick to offer their well wishes.

Minnesota Duluth, Southwest Minnesota State and Wayne State all swept their doubleheaders today which leaves Augustana on the outside looking in for the NSIC Postseason tourney which will begin on Wednesday in St. Cloud.

More info on the NSIC Tourney will come next week.  It may be especially interesting to see what transpires between the Mavs & Huskies going forward.

20 Responses to “Minnesota State Wins Conference Title – Final 6 Set”


  1. 1 Wow May 2, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Good luck to all of you. It hurts to be looking in.

  2. 2 54 more to go May 2, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    The tourney starts Wednesday in St. Cloud.

  3. 4 Anonymous May 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    “More info on the NSIC Tourney will come next week. It may be especially interesting to see what transpires between the Mavs & Huskies going forward.”

    I would agree. Just to bad yesterday’s 2nd game had 3 walks to lead off the bottom of the 7th. Anyone sitting close to behind home plate would agree with my point. SCUS wins that inning and the are the NSIC Champions via tiebreaker.

    Good luck to all six teams this week in St. Cloud!

    • 5 Dave May 2, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      I don’t like the tone that this place has taken the last few days, so I think I will sign off of here for the year and just go enjoy the last week or two of my son’s baseball season. I’m looking forward to seeing some games at St. Cloud’s field again. It’s a great place to watch some baseball.

      Good luck to all the teams in the tournament. I’ve seen all of them play this year now and I can say that MSU, SCSU, WSC and Winona are all about as evenly matched as you can get. Put that together with Southwest and Duluth showing that they can play with and beat the top teams and it’s going to be a wild ride! Let’s see if we can get 4 NSIC teams in the regional!

      Sr.: I really do hope you guys get a chance to go to the regional again this year (as long as we do too!). I know it’s your son’s last year and I can imagine that must be pretty hard. We’ve got 2 more years

      cu17dad: See you again next year! You son had a good year and I look forward to watching him if we get to play each other again next year. He was one of two players I enjoyed watching when we played last week.

      • 6 Dave May 2, 2010 at 8:54 pm

        Sorry. My browser freaked out and posted that before I was done.

        I wanted to be sure to thank fishingmn for keeping this blog going this year despite the change in his son’s situation. You really have some good insights into things and have provided a good environment for discussion and camaraderie. It has been fun to share the season with other parents and fans from other teams.

      • 7 John Plasha Sr. May 2, 2010 at 10:18 pm

        Dave,
        Good luck to you and your son also. Enjoy every minute you can as it will be over before you know it. Seems like only yesterday me an Jr. took a plane ride to check out this D-2 baseball powerhouse in of all places, Nebraska! I made the most of it by attending 31 outa 60 games last year and have 21 under my belt so far this year but even that doesn’t seem like enough. I truely do envy you having 2 whole years ahead of you watching your son play ball. Good luck where ever that ride takes you and perhaps we’ll bump into each other next week.

  4. 8 Anonymous May 2, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Opps! Mavericks. Congrats to them and see them in a few days!

  5. 9 CU17Dad May 3, 2010 at 5:14 am

    Thanks Dave for the comments about 17. He hit the ball well yesterday but had trouble finding the holes. I know some of the hits this year had eyes so it all evens out.

    Good luck to all in the tournament and the regionals qualifiers.

    I heard this weekend the scheduling for next year will be different. The Wednesday DH’s will not be a home and home series but rotating years. So each Wednesday will have a different match up each week. All of the teams will play each other with the exception of one team. So everyone will play each other minus the odd team out for them.

    I do not have a favorite in the tournament. Talking with players and parents it looks to be a shoot out.

  6. 10 CU17Dad May 3, 2010 at 5:16 am

    Thanks Fishingmn for keeping the site active again this year. It has been great sharing comments and insights with everyone. The people are passionate about their teams and respectful of the others.

  7. 11 My two cents May 3, 2010 at 7:29 am

    The only two issues with this schudule set up and they are important ones are:

    Teams still are not play the same teams. Yes it’s a litle more balanced but those playing UMC and NSU only two times vs those teams playing the Mankato’s, SCSU’s, Wayne’s, Winona’a make it still an unbalnced season. But that’s not the major concern.

    More importantly, and mark my word on this:
    Playing 5 middle of the week DH’s plus Easter Weekend Thursday/Friday and having our typical midwest April is going to cause major problems. Great weather allows the games to be played, but typical weather like the past 20 years is going to push back Sat/Sun games causing even more middle of the week games and numerous cancellations.

    With going down to 50 games and the good possibility of teams losing 8-10 with weather will bring game totals down to the low 40’s and not mid 50’s. The RMAC will have 50 games in because they spread their season out.

    Starting April 1st and trying to get in 36 conference games in allows only 14 games from Feb 1st when most all teams have started in the dome to Apil 1st. Take a spring trip and use up 10 games in one week and you have 4-6 games for 7 weeks. The February and March weekend games with no missed class will be getting eliminated.

    Come back and check this post next May and see how many games teams play and if they do how bunched up these games are and talk with your son’s about how much not only class time they missed, but how many late night return travel arrivals they have with 8am class.

    Just my two cents.

  8. 12 wildpitch May 3, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I would like to say good luck to all the teams in the tournament. This is my first year here and I have enjoyed reading this blog it is nice to have a place to go and read,vent and get some help, I hope next year will be just as fun.

  9. 13 Bulldog Dad May 3, 2010 at 11:37 am

    I’m very new to this site but I have really enjoyed checking things out the last third of the season. In reading most of the entries I guys we don’t have to be bitter enemies. For the most part we are a lot alike. My son plays for the Dogs, and I and all the other Bulldog fans are looking forward to the tourney. Should be fun.

  10. 14 fishingmn May 3, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Interesting comment today from someone within MSU in my The King is Dead article.

    Winning Friends and Influencing People isn’t high on the reading list at MSU I think.

  11. 15 IMAFAN May 3, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    Ok Sportsfans lets have the prognostications.
    I believe I went first early in the year with my picks so I might as well do it again.
    1)St. Cloud State
    2)Winona State
    3)MSU

    Lets here’em

    My early season guess?? Not terrible?
    January 22, 2010 at 7:26 pm
    My 2 cents
    Wayne 1
    Winona State 2
    (Based on schedule – Wayne beats Mankato and Winons doesn’t play either one. If not It would be Wayne 1 Mankato 2 and Winona 3)
    Mankato 3
    Augustana 4
    St. Cloud 5
    SW MN 6
    (Last playoff spot – should have 8 teams!!)
    Duluth 7
    Up IA 8
    Concordia 9
    Mary 10
    Bemidji 11
    Crookston 12
    NS 12

  12. 16 Anonymous May 3, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    In response to Mankoto’s post game activities:

    Not a problem IF YOUR FANS AT MANKATO don’t chase down players after games. I tell you what if that would’ve been me as a player I would’ve taken a different approach instead of just walking on to the bus.

    This starts at the top with MSU administration and coaches. And has NOTHING to do with jealousy or winning. Young kids were running around running their mouths. I see this is just “the way things are done at Mankato.” One of these days “some old school” will come back set these guys in place.

    And my last point/post on this as this should be a fun time of the year for all players, why is it always about Mankato when talking about sportsmanship. I can’t remember anything even resembeling an issue between fans, alums, players, coaches in the past three years with any other team?

  13. 17 the elder scrolls online beta August 1, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you
    design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  14. 18 http://dream.sonjodulur.com/blogs/viewstory/303147 March 5, 2014 at 4:39 am

    Thanls forr your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you are a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon.

    I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice
    holiday weekend!


  1. 1 Day 2 – 2010 NCAA Division 2 Baseball Regionals « Northern Sun Baseball Trackback on May 14, 2010 at 6:33 am
  2. 2 Minnesota State Wins NCAA Division 2 Central Region Tourney « Northern Sun Baseball Trackback on May 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

Leave a Reply

Daily Posts

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

