Schrader Getting Rocked To Kick Off Northern Sun Play

image

Just a couple weeks ago the Northern Sun Conference Coaches Poll and NSIC Conference named Southwest Minnesota State pitcher, Adam Schrader, their NSIC Preseason Pitcher of the Year.  Preseason NSIC Predictions  You’ll see that yours truly questioned the selection of Schrader.

Fast forward to the opening game of the 2010 D2 College Baseball season for teams in the Northern Sun Conference where SMSU is playing Minnesota Duluth at the Metrodome this afternoon.  Here’s Schrader’s line through 2 innings:

image

He got bailed out in the first from a bases loaded no-out jam by a pop up and double play but 3 ER’s, 6 hits, 2 BB’s, 1 HBP & 1 WP to go along with 62 pitches isn’t exactly the line he was hoping for.

Yes – I realize it’s only 2 innings into the season.  Still an interesting start to the year.

You can follow along yourself here – SMSU Live Stats Site

Edit – It’s only fair to come back and say that Schrader finished with 2 really strong innings in the 3rd & 4th by facing 7 batters and giving up only 1 walk.  He left the game after 4 complete and in the end only surrendered the 3 ER’s

44 Responses to “Schrader Getting Rocked To Kick Off Northern Sun Play”


  1. 1 Wow February 4, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Schrader replaced in the 5th inning losing 5-2.

    • 2 John Plasha Sr. February 4, 2010 at 7:38 pm

      Boy this is music to my ears. I’ve been waiting for this since last May. Bout time we heard something besides football, basketball, and hockey.

      • 3 annonymous February 4, 2010 at 9:44 pm

        Honnestly if you werent at the game you obviously dont know anything about baseball there was only 3 hard hit balls! Schrader pitched very well. I dont think you should be posting a blog saying that he got rocked when you only posted 2 innings of work! Please find something else to talk about thanks i appreciate it!!!

      • 4 fishingmn February 5, 2010 at 5:33 am

        Response to annonymous

        A) Clearly I wasn’t at the game – I was following it on Live Stats.

        B) It’s my blog so go away if you don’t like it

      • 5 John Plasha Sr. February 6, 2010 at 12:01 am

        Boy you guys been busy. I steped out at noon for a little ride to Maryland and back thru the blizzard and I missed out on 17 post! Lots of good info and participation from many corners of the league. Hopefully I’ll have some news to post here from the Mile High state next weekend.

      • 6 John Plasha Sr. February 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

        26″ and still going strong. You guy out in the mid west thought you had the market cornered with bad weather. And from what I hear we got more on the way Tues/Wed. They won’t be playing BB around here for a while. I think I’ll take a ride/flight to Colorado next weekend and see some ball.

      • 7 John Plasha Sr. February 9, 2010 at 10:04 pm

        Guess what? It’s Tues/Wed. and you guessed it, It’s snowing again. They’re calling for another 18″ to 24″ tonight and tomorrow. The airport’s shut down till further notice. Never thought I’d be going to Colorado to get away from Snow!

  2. 8 IMAFAN February 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Bullcrap. I was there he didn’r start out well at all. He was lucky to only give up 3.

  3. 9 IMAFAN February 4, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I watched baseball today! I couldn’t be happier!

  4. 10 John Plasha Sr. February 5, 2010 at 6:02 am

    Hey fishingmn,
    I’m with you. You put a lot of time and effort into this site and have always been honest and accurate concerning material or opinions posted on “Your” site. These are not fragile 12 year olds we’re talking about here. I don’t think your gonna hurt this kid’s feelings. He would probably agree with your assesment anyway. If young Mr. Schrader goes out and blows em away next outing I’m sure you’ll post that too. Keep up the good work!

  5. 11 Wow February 5, 2010 at 6:40 am

    Anyone hear about the results of the Concordia’s games. I could find nothing except they won the first game 7-6. No stats.

  6. 12 imafan February 5, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Everyone gets a participation ribbon and a marshmellow so we can sing kumbya around the sanctioned camp fire this evening.
    Ann – Cowboy-up.
    “Theres no crying in baseball”

  7. 13 WSCDad February 5, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I think its safe to say that giving up 5 runs in the first two innings – hits, walks and hit by pitch – is getting rocked. Call it what you want but it all ends up the same – a loss. Preseason pitcher of the year is 0-1 and was beaten by the mighty Duluth Bulldogs.

    But hey, the coaches picked them ninth in the conference. Although to be fair – those same coaches picked an unranked Mankato to win the conference above top 20 Wayne – and one of the idiots gave St. Cloud a first place vote.

    Annonymous = internet tough guy. HA!

  8. 14 cu17dad February 5, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Concordia lost the second game 5 to 4. Stats will probably be out later today. Ended at 12:09 am.

  9. 15 imafan February 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Hey CU17 – looked for you couldn’t figure out exactly where you were? Were you sitting behind Mr. Herbert? I’ve known him for a long time. Son and Dad are great guys.
    #17 had 2 nice triples – getting 2 in a season is good?!
    I was impressed with NW. Didn’t stay until 12 though.

    last comment on Ann’s comment. if “you don’t know anything about baseball”… its widley viewed that hitters are usually ahead of pitchers early in the season.Pretty normal thing to occur.

  10. 17 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Sorry to hear for Adam, but there were some pretty good games played by Concordia, I thought. After seeing that Adam has struggling coming out of the gates. I am going to go out on a lim and say that either David D from SCU will be POY or the mueller kid

  11. 19 Wow February 5, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    UMD was leading 9-1 against SMSU. UMD batted and finished in the top of the 7th but game ran out of time. I guess this will not count against SMSU. They had gone through the top of the order of SMSU 4 times. I would think after 6 innings it should count for something.

  12. 20 imafan February 5, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Thought after 5 it is complete?

  13. 21 Wow February 5, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    It don’t look that way on the stats and win-loss.

  14. 22 imafan February 5, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    Ah. NCAA rule it has to go all 7. I would have played tiddley winks in the dugout between innings to if I was down 9 with that rule…

  15. 23 Wow February 5, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    I’m not sure they didn’t.

  16. 24 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    WSCdad i meant pitcher of the year, i still think wente is still front runner for preseason player of year

  17. 26 WSCDad February 5, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    9-1 after 6.5 innings and it’s not a complete game? Please. Sounds like some sort of rule for 13 year olds. Did they start with a 3-2 count too?

    Doesn’t matter what the record book says – the SW boys know they split with Duluth and that is not good. They now know when they play real competition they will have their hands full.

  18. 27 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    o no i am pretty sure he does both. if his stats are right

  19. 28 cu17dad February 5, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    I was sitting up behind most of the parents with my wife. I was a few rows behind Tommy Mauer ASST AD.

  20. 29 UIUDAD February 6, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Good info boys, but with the UMD vs. SMSU second game it is a NCAA rule that a game has to go 7 innings, who cares about a 13 year old game. I wasnt at the games but WSCDad as much stuff you are talking about SMSU it seems like you are a little worried about their team. WSC is picked higher then SMSU but as much stuff you talk about them it seems like you are worried about them beating the WSC team. Just a thought tho. By the way it doesnt matter what SMSU’s team is thinking they are still 2-1. Just a thought though…

    • 30 WSCDad February 6, 2010 at 7:54 am

      Sensitive much? Jeez….I read back through this entire post and don’t see anyone attacked. To say Schrader had a bad outing, when he did – really?? Attacking? If that’s what you think, then you also think these boys are 13.

      As for the NCAA, there isn’t enough space on the internet to discuss that idiocy.

      Oh, by the way – as I said before – SW just split with Duluth. They have work to do.

  21. 31 NSICAlum February 6, 2010 at 3:03 am

    Saying that its a rule for 13 year olds well…you should prolly take that up with the NCAAA. And i just have one question. since when did this blog turn into a personal attack sight? Pretty sure this started out proffesional and now its turning to a bash party. Grow up Peter Pan. Are we really at the point were we are calling out players names in the title of the article. I really feel that is professional. I will also state that i am neither personal or parent of the SMSU team. Lets not let this site go to garbage. As far as i have seen this site was designed for information not opinion, with the exception on the Wayne State fans. But we all know how that goes….

    • 32 imafan February 6, 2010 at 10:52 am

      Gee;
      Isn’t your blog about your opinion!? And isn’t it an informational area that people add opinions to. Isn’t that what is occuring? What am I missing?

    • 33 Anonymous February 6, 2010 at 11:15 am

      NSIC Alum
      As far as the content of this site goes please refer to fishingmn’s “Response to annonymous” point B).

      As far as this turning into a personal attach site what do you call your comment “with the exception of the Wayne State fans”. As a matter of fact I do know “how that goes”. It’s called “Bragging Rights” where I come from. Till somebody comes a long and knocks WSC off they/we can can exercise those rights to our hearts content. Besides you should try not being so thin skined. If you think this a “Bash Party” you wouldn’t last real long where I come from!(Philly) As far as I’m concerned this is a great site with a lot of people with something in common having a good time. So my advise to you is “Lighten Up” and Go Cats!!!

      • 34 John Plasha Sr. February 6, 2010 at 11:19 am

        Damm,
        I forgot to put my name in that block again. I always take credit for what I say and I’m proud of it. That’s another “Philly” thing. That anonymous quote above is me.

  22. 35 imafan February 6, 2010 at 10:54 am

    If you are searching for information only than the existing NSIC conference website is for you.

  23. 36 Stanger February 6, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    No matter what is said on here it is much appreciated as it is the only way to converse about nsic baseball

  24. 37 fishingmn February 7, 2010 at 7:21 am

    ” As far as i have seen this site was designed for information not opinion”

    No – this site was designed for me to follow and comment on whatever I felt like talking about. It was never designed to just report news – every athletic department has a website you can follow for that. Go back to February 2009, my first month, and you’ll see me calling out the NSIC for stupid Player of the Week choices.

    If I offended the Schrader family, that was not my intent and I apologize. I was just commenting on what I was seeing and did come back and follow up with an edit telling the whole story about his solid finish.

    If I offended anyone else – feel free not to come back or even better start your own blog. I’m sure your rehash of information already available will be very interesting.

    Rant off.

  25. 38 cu17dad February 7, 2010 at 9:21 am

    You all have fun out in Colorado. Do your best to help the NSIC by beating a couple RMAC teams. Concordia dropped Osh Kosh and added St. Cloud on Feb 15th in the Dome.

    I believe this site is an information site. Everyone shares their information from their point of view. I am not sure I would ever mention a palyer by name if they had a bad day or showed extremely por sportsmanship. I would mention the school since that is the one the athletes represent.

  26. 39 Stanger February 7, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Anyone have any results from the Augie Rockhurst DH tonight?

  27. 40 MNbsbl February 7, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    What’s with all the bashing on here?? The first game of the season is where these guys get rid of the cobb webs…if you look at Shrader’s records from previous years, you’ll find out he’s a great player.

    • 41 Wow February 9, 2010 at 11:26 am

      I don’t think any team wants to or is looking forward to facing
      Schrader. He is one of the best without a doubt. I would take him and make him the 1st go to guy on any team.

  28. 42 Baseball February 9, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Schrader is good. 15 K’s vs. Winona State in NSIC tournament last year. Was awesome vs. Concordia in 2008 at NSIC tournament and beat Mankato in NCAA regional last year.

    It is one start. Not a big deal. We all have opinions and the guy who has this site says he is no good. I disagree. I think he is good.

    By the way, St. Cloud State was also losing 6-1 and that game was “canceled” because of time last weekend. I’m not saying UMD is great, but they were 24-28 last season. they aren’t horrible.

    • 43 John Plasha Sr. February 9, 2010 at 9:54 pm

      Baseball,
      I’m not sure what site or guy your refering to but It can’t be this one because no where in here did anybody imply that Mr. Schrader was no good. If you are in fact refering to this site you need to go back and read it again and hopefully get your facts straight this time. Please don’t take this as “Bashing” as I am just pointing out something that needs to be understood by all who visit this site. I read it myself several times and from what i can see the Author only stats the fact that Mr Schrader strugled in the first couple of innings. He also came out and edited it shortly there after and reported the the young man finished up with “2 really strong innings”. I myself find it amusing that after a year of giving anybody and everybody in the NSIC plenty of much needed information, all of you new members, having never posted on here before are comming out of the woodwork with hurt feelings and defensive attitudes. Everybody needs to lighten up and enjoy it for what it is. It’s a college baseball blog written by a guy, who unlike the rest of us, spends a lot of spare time that he doesn’t have compiling information and reporting about something dear to our hearts. Try not reading any more than that into it. Good Luck to all in the NSIC!

  29. 44 John Plasha Sr. February 9, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    You got one dad right here. Might I ask why you ask the question?


Leave a Reply

Daily Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

