NCAA D2 College Baseball 2010 Season Kicks Off

NCAA Baseball Logo

The NCAA Division 2 College Baseball season officially kicks off today.  Unfortunately, there is no uniform website that tracks all of the schedules so short of looking at every team’s schedule it’s hard to say who is actually playing today.

What we can look at is the Northern Sun Schedule and see the following teams are kicking off play this week with the first games scheduled to take place this Thursday at the Metrodome in Minneapolis –

Thursday February 4th:

Minnesota Duluth vs. Southwest Minnesota State (DH) – 3pm

Concordia vs. Northwestern, IA (DH) – 8pm

Friday February 5th:

Minnesota Duluth vs. Southwest Minnesota State (DH) – 9am

Minnesota Crookston vs. Bemidji State (DH) – 7pm

Saturday February 6th:

St. Cloud State vs. Wisconsin Parkside (DH) – 9am

Sunday February 7th:

St. Cloud State vs. Wisconsin Parkside (DH) – 7:30am

Augustana vs. Rockhurst – 5pm  (no super bowl watching for them)

The most interesting of these games is certainly the UMD vs. SWMS matchup.  Last year SWMS spanked Duluth 34-1 in a non-conference game.  The Mustangs lost quite a few players from their 3rd place team of last year.  That said, I’m not sure Duluth has the pitching to win more than 1 game (although Anders Engberg is very good).

29 Responses to “NCAA D2 College Baseball 2010 Season Kicks Off”


  1. 1 WSCDad February 2, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I am so glad baseball season is here. Looking forward to seeing some results. Wayne boys play on the 12th in Colorado. FYI to all who care – Jarrett Jackson is on the ‘Cats roster now. Don’t know if that means anything official yet, but it is progress. Good luck to everybody.

    • 2 John Plasha Sr. February 2, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      Yea Baby!! Here we go. That’s certianly good news. Your gonna have to look real hard to find an infield better than what WSC is gonna trot out on to the field in 2 weeks. Till than I’ll be looking for a way to follow some of the games in the Dome listed above. Good luck to all!

  2. 3 IMAFAN February 2, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    LLLLLEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTSSSSSSSSS get ready to RRRRUUUUUUUMMMMMMBLE

    I’m taking all bets on WSU vs. WSC. I’m talkin a box of Twinkies or a large gatorade (Or bud lite) whatever your favorite flavor. Put your 89 cents where your mouths are boys.
    Are you both going to the dome? I will have to say hello.

    • 4 John Plasha Sr. February 2, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      You got yourself a bet big guy. And yes I plan on being there to collect in person. (I hope) You guys got a real nice team there. Should be a couple of real good games. I’ll be sure to look you up but how will I know it’s you? And by the way, when was the last time you bought anything for 89 cents?

  3. 5 imafan February 2, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I look forward to it! And I believe WSU’s infield will be running onto the field…
    That used to be the price of a box of twinkies back in the day. I’m old.
    I would guess there will not be too many people attending the games? We will have to come up with some type of a super double secret handshake or something to distinguish each other. Or look for the balding overweight goofy lookin guy that is either cryin or cheerin depending on how things are going.

  4. 7 John Plasha Sr. February 3, 2010 at 5:55 am

    And dumb too. You would think I would remember to put my name in the box, after all I’ve been posting on this site for a year now.

  5. 8 WSCDad February 3, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I’m in for the whole 89 cents. We are flying in Friday morning and going straight to the dome. Staying at the Fairfield Inn with the boys and then back home Saturday pm.
    Looking forward to it – I’ll be the good looking guy flying the black and gold.

    • 9 John Plasha Sr. February 3, 2010 at 9:00 am

      Hey Dad,
      Thanks for the tip about the Fairfield Inn. I wasn’t aware of that. We fly in Thursday night so I’ll see you at the park. And about that “good looking guy” thing ?????????

  6. 10 WSCDad February 3, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Plash

    I’m a legend in my own mind!!

  7. 11 cu17dad February 3, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I will be driving up to the CVU game Thursday evening. A short 3.5 hour drive from Des Moines. If anyone from this site is going look for the WHITE haired fella with white chin whiskers. My wife will be next to me. I usually sit near the CU dugout, second set of seats up for the panoramic view.
    Good luck in all of your games and prepare for the conference schedule.

  8. 12 imafan February 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I am going to stop in for the earlier game D vs SW and stay for a while. I will stop by and say hello. I don’t see another 34-1 game coming on Thursday for D vs SW?!
    Good luck. How did you guys get a game with the little sisters of the blind? Kiddding!!!

  9. 13 WSCDad February 3, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    NCBWA poll dated Feb 2.

    WSC 16th and No. 2 in the region behind Mesa.

    So, 19th, 16th and 14th. Plenty of room to move up!

  10. 15 imafan February 3, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    Gosh they sure do think alot of Mesa and for that matter the whole Rocky group? Didn’t mesa lose some talent? Not that everyone doesn’t/didn’t.

    • 16 John Plasha Sr. February 3, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      Well, I guess when you finish out the previous season in the #1 spot you stay there till someone beats you and proves otherwise. That’s the way it works where I come from.

  11. 17 huskie10 February 3, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    the WSU vs WSC who are u guys referring to i know wayne but who is wsu Winona

  12. 19 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 3:10 am

    Well IMAFAN i really like that wayne match up. I really dont think my huskies will be able to handle wsu in a couple of weeks. but i hope they do. One thing for me in that wayne wsu game is my fav match up will be that mueller kid vs waynes ace or what ever. I really believe that from what i saw this summer that mueller is the best pitcher in this conference if not best player

  13. 20 imafan February 5, 2010 at 7:59 am

    The kid is just a pure baseball player and fun to watch. He pitched in the tourney last year against Wayne however I believe that playing Center when he wasn’t pitching had a toll on his arm last year. He was a true freshmen and I think his arm was a bit tired by that time in the season.
    It will be a very good guage for both St. Cloud and WSU. I think I’ll make the trip if the weather gets better soon?
    Saw your/SCU scout last night. I am quite sure WSU has no such thing. All the little things make a big difference in BB I think.

  14. 21 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Ya, you are right all little things matter, and i mean that can just be a couple extras swings off the tee. I am excited to watch both those match ups wsc vs wsu and wsu and the good guys. I really hope Mueller doesnt pitch against us down in Missouri. I would rather see him vs missouri i think they are preseason ranked 4 in country. Ya it will be interesting to see how he fairs this year. I am guessing being a sophomore his body will be able to handle it a little bit better. After what i have seen tho from Schradoer last night. My new preseason pick for pitcher of the year is Mueller just based on what i saw this summer when i saw him pitch up here

  15. 22 imafan February 5, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I believe he could have been pitcher of the year last year if he didn’t play so much D. He litterally either pitched or played CF. I thought it was way too much for anyone. You have to take into account the warm-up throws between innings/before a game and the ones standing at the fence 10 minutes after you threw your last warm-up throw/with a cold arm. No way I would have played him defensively as much as he was played. DH him every other pitching start and field him just once a week between that?!

  16. 23 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Ya the only thing with that tho is that you cant really replace his speed. I heard that he had the fastest time in the 60 in the Northwoods league this past summer. At the combine he ran a 6.4. But i do agree it has got to be hard on the arm

  17. 24 imafan February 5, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Im going to disagree with that respectfully.
    I am going to guess that his speed only made a difference of 2-4 putouts/plays. At this level you should have players capable of getting a jump on any ball. IE a back-up capable of getting to all the other ones. Vs. the additional amount of arm abuse I would easily take the 2-4 hits? Considering he probably could have than pitched more innings I would definitely take the 2-4 as he could have easily taken 6-8 hits away from an additional game or parts of a few games? His pitching is more relevant/valuable than his defense. Don’t get me wrong he’s a great hitter I would DH him every opportunity.

  18. 25 huskie10 February 5, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    O I can see where your coming from. that there is not enough plays where his speed would matter. Ya i am looking forward to the whole season to get going goodluck to all teams. And we will see how mueller fairs this year doing both again. if i had to guess i say he will put up better numbers, both ways

  19. 26 Wow February 5, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Mueller and Baumann played in the Northwoods. Pretty even although Baumann was hit in the face and suffered broken teeth and some vision problems for 2 weeks and stuck out 18 times during that span, It hurt his stats but came back strong at the end of the season. With all players who had over 150 at bats, Baumann was 8th overall in the league.
    Mueller played very well and pitched very well.

    W L IP R ER H BB WP HBP SO BF G GS CG SHO SV HRA OOBP OSLG OAVG ERA

    Mueller, T LAC 1 1 29.1 12 7 23 8 1 2 26 124 13 1 0 0 1 1 .266 .254 .202 2.15

    No. Player Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB HP SO E OBP SLG AVG

    Mueller Baumann

    Games 44 47
    at bat 122 158
    runs 19 23
    hits 36 47
    2b 2 14
    3b 0 0
    hr 0 3
    rbi 5 17
    bb 9 13
    hp 3 3
    so 20 46
    e 8 5
    obp .358 ,360
    slg .311 .443
    avg .295 .297

  20. 27 Wow February 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    That was 8th in the league in Slugging Percentage.

  21. 28 imafan February 7, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Yikes, Mesa starts out the season 0-2 loses 2 to Dixe State UT. 2-7 10-11. Next two rained out. Looks like we might have a new #1 in region before the new #1 starts playing?
    CSP and Metro split. NM Highlands wins 16-0 & 21-3.


Leave a Reply

Daily Posts

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

