Sometimes You Get a Curveball

curve

Sometimes in life things don’t go quite as you thought they might.  When you zig, life zags and when you think you got the next pitch figured out, you get a curveball.  Such it is with this writer who started this blog as a way to track his son play D2 baseball in the Northern Sun Conference for the 2009-10 season.  But, things don’t always go as planned, especially with teenagers who are trying to figure out what they want to do with their lives.

So, if you haven’t figured it out by now, my son won’t be playing NSIC baseball this year which leaves this blog in a bit of a quandary.  If he’s not at a NSIC school my interest in covering Northern Sun Baseball will be significantly decreased.  On top of that, my Realtor business is getting crazy busy which was already impacting how much time I was going to be able to put into the blog.  Here are the choices I can think of –

  1. Shut down for the time being with extremely limited content
  2. Post occasional content but leave it more free form for NSIC fans to communicate with each other via the comments
  3. Find some other contributors who want to step up and be writers for the blog

So, if 1 or more of you want to take a shot at being writers let me know and I’ll grant you access to the blog & train you on creating posts (or you could just e-mail me content which I would post). 

On a personal note, I feel bad that I won’t be spending as much time here.   To have had more than 56,000 visits to my blog in less than a year has been very humbling.  I’m going to miss meeting a lot of you in the stands.

So, instead of the NSIC stands I’ll be in some other bleachers.  I’ve spent 17 years teaching my son the game I love and following his every contest.  That won’t stop – ever.

27 Responses to “Sometimes You Get a Curveball”


  1. 1 Wow January 13, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Sorry to hear that. I have enjoyed the info and the blogging with other people. Your hard work has been appreciated. I wish both you and your son the best.

  2. 2 John Plasha Sr. January 13, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    “Sorry to hear that” is a hugh understatement!!! Besides doing a first class job running this blog you have provided those of us living in distant parts of the country an opertunity to follow NSIC baseball up front and close. Far to often we only know “some” of the details about the one team we’re closest to without knowing anything about the other 8 to 12 teams we play against. You enabled myself to get a basic idea of many of the teams I am hopeing to see in person thru out the season. I’ve been known to venture out to that neck of the woods and was hopeing to meet many of the posters on this site as well as you “The Creator” himself.
    Was also waiting for your next post which I assumned would be the Wayne State Preview. You left off with Minn State so it looked like you were working your way to the “Top”.
    And in closing I gotta say I was really looking forward to the answers to more than 1 of the “What To Ask The Coaches” subject. There were some very important points of information expressed and questions raised on several topics dear to our hearts.
    Good luck to you and your son on whatever field you guys end up playing on!!!

  3. 3 fishingmn January 13, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    John – if you want to write a Wayne State preview (objectively 🙂 ) and send it to me I’d be happy to post it.

    • 4 John Plasha Sr. January 13, 2010 at 9:29 pm

      Thanks but No Thanks. It wouldn’t be the same comming from me. I already blew the “objectivly” part when I said I thought you were working your way “To the Top” in my previous post. I was hopeing you had one more good one left in ya!

  4. 5 cu17dad January 14, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I have deeply appreciated your efforts running this blog. It has been very informative and enlightening.

    Good luck to your son. I hope he finds his niche in the baseball world.

    Good luck to you in your business enterprize.

    Thank you for all you have done.

  5. 6 imafan January 14, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Hold it – you can’t leave!

    Thanks very much for your efforts.
    Will you be leaving this up so we can continue to give our wild and wacky opinions?
    I would give running some info or data or stories here and there with your help if you would be interested?

    • 7 fishingmn January 15, 2010 at 5:05 am

      imafan – I definitely will leave the website up.

      I may do a weekly post with things like the standings and then let people free form it in the comments.

  6. 8 Moose January 17, 2010 at 10:17 am

    This is bad news. I was looking forward to all the previews and the comments following. I hope the site stays up.

  7. 9 pauls. January 18, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Thanks for all you have done. I can certainly relate to your situation. Good luck to you and your son.

  8. 10 WSCDad January 18, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Fish

    Sorry to hear about the curveball. Selfishly of course, because I won’t have this blog to look forward to everyday. You have provided such a large block of information for the NSIC and D2 both. It has been greatly appreciated.

    On the not so selfish front – I am quite sure that everything happens for a reason and that this is no exception. It was a series of seemingly “bad” things that happened to my son, beginning in his senior year of high school, that landed him in Wayne. I am certain that had things gone as “planned” he would be somewhere else – and I can tell you that being at Wayne has been great for him. I have watched him mature and grow in a way I had not thought possible.

    So, you said you wouldn’t been in the “NSIC stands but in some other bleachers”. I hope that means that there is still a plan to play college baseball somewhere. If it is JUCO baseball, be careful to watch the “school portion” carefully. It seems that JUCO coaches aren’t so worried about academics. Anyway, good luck with whatever pitch gets hurled at you next!!

    If you send me your email address again, I will try to put something together about the Wayne boys. I am sure it won’t have the depth of your coverage, but it will be biased – of that you can be sure!!

    • 11 fishingmn January 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm

      He won’t be playing college or JUCO this year but he’ll be playing summer baseball on his Minnesota State Amatuer “Town Ball” team (Rosemount Black Sox). Beyond that is too far into the future.

  9. 12 formerlyanonymous January 20, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Wow, That’s sad to hear. This is the best conference blog out there. To lose you and BigTenHardball this off season is a huge loss.

  10. 13 Anonymous January 21, 2010 at 6:13 am

    fishingmn,
    You would think with all these compliments being thrown upon you (all of which are deserving) we could squeese 1 more team review outa you. Sure would like to see your “objective” read one what has been one of the premere teams in the NSIC over the last several years. If time constraints and work load don’t allow this to happen we’ll understand as I’m sure you can see by all the positive comments in the above posts we have all derived many enjoyable hours checking and participating in this site over the last year. As WSCDad stated above I also checked this site everyday looking forward to reading about happenings in the D-2 baseball community overall and especialy the NSIC. Thanks Again and good luck wherever you and your son end up.

    • 14 fishingmn January 22, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Well, this weekend might be slower. If I get a chance I’ll try to put together a WSC preview. Between Coach Mags and the WSC followers that school has certainly been my most vocal supporters.

  11. 15 Wow January 22, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Joe Wendte picked preseason NSIC player of the year. Wayne St.

    Adam Schrader pitcher. SMSU

  12. 17 Wow January 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    I personally don’t think it will happen that way. SW Minn has lost to much. I pick Wayne 1st. SW Minn may not make the top 6.

  13. 18 IMAFAN January 22, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    My 2 cents
    Wayne 1
    Winona State 2
    (Based on schedule – Wayne beats Mankato and Winons doesn’t play either one. If not It would be Wayne 1 Mankato 2 and Winona 3)
    Mankato 3
    Augustana 4
    St. Cloud 5
    SW MN 6
    (Last playoff spot – should have 8 teams!!)
    Duluth 7
    Up IA 8
    Concordia 9
    Mary 10
    Bemidji 11
    Crookston 12
    NS 12

  14. 20 cu17dad January 23, 2010 at 6:57 am

    1. Wayne
    2. Minn State
    3. Winona
    4. Augie
    5. St Cloud
    6. CU
    7. SW Minn
    8. Upper Iowa
    9. UM Duluth
    10 Bemidji
    11. Northern
    12.Mary
    13 Crookston

  15. 21 IMAFAN January 24, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I think I know how St. Cloud got a #1 vote. Either from Wayne or Mankato so that coach wouldn’t have to give the main rival a #1 vote. Am I wrong here?

    • 22 John Plasha Sr. January 31, 2010 at 6:58 pm

      Hey Ima,
      Pretty good guess. Your smarter than you look. Ha Ha. Although I have to say that even though most people have St. Cloud finishing no higher than 4th or 5th I think they are a real sleeper. I’m picking them # 2 behind only Wayne.

  16. 23 imafan February 4, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I do surprise people that way. Its all about genetics…
    I hear ya. But, too young, too inexpierienced and too tough of a schedule. I believe they will struggle to make the top 6 again this year. 89 cent bet? I say 5 or worse you say 2-3 we push at 4? We on.

    • 24 John Plasha Sr. February 4, 2010 at 7:45 pm

      Not so fast. I’ll have to chew on that one for a while. Sure you don’t wanna make the bet for a beer. I win my beer bets!

  17. 25 IMAFAN February 4, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Theres no crying in baseball…
    Beer it is! Thats my favotrite bet as well – though not that lucky at it? Bought my share.

  18. 27 pensiune Piatra Craiului January 18, 2015 at 10:44 am

    Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know iff you knew of any community
    forums that cover the samme topics talked about
    here? I’d really love to be a part of online community
    where I can get advice from other experienced people that
    share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Daily Posts

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

