Archive for June 5th, 2009

Final 2009 Northern Sun D2 College Baseball Poll

Northern Sun D2 Poll1

Each week during the 2009 NCAA Division 2 college baseball season the Northern Sun Baseball blog combined the 3 primary D2 baseball polls into 1 composite ranking.  This week 2 of the 3 ranking services put out their year end polls so it seems appropriate to combine those into 1 final composite poll for the year.

Lynn University is the unanimous choice as the #1 team in Division II baseball with their run to the 2009 NCAA D2 Championship.  Emporia State, the 2nd place team, was #2 in both polls.

In fact, as might be expected, the 2 polls are the most similar they’ve been all year.  All 8 teams that made it to the D2 College World Series cracked the Top 10.  The 2 teams in the Top 10 that didn’t make it there were both teams that eventual champion Lynn had to beat in the South Regional to reach the World Series.

For the Northern Sun Conference, Wayne State (NE) cracked the Top 30 in the #30 position.


CBN – College Baseball News; Ping – Ping!Baseball; NCBWA – National College Baseball Writers Association; NSB Rank – Northern Sun Baseball Composite Poll; Comb Pts – Combined points in the composite rankings; LW – Last week’s composite ranking

College Baseball News Poll

Ping!Baseball Poll

NCBWA 2009 D2 Baseball All-American Team


The National College Baseball Writers Association has announced their 2009 Division II college baseball All-American team.

The Northern Sun Conference was recognized with 1 player on the 3rd team and 8 players being named to the Honorable Mention team.



PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Gabriel Duran, Dowling

COACH OF THE YEAR – Dan O’Brien, UC San Diego


Catcher: Matt Adams, Slippery Rock

First baseman: Jon Alia, Cal State Dominguez Hills

Second baseman: Kevin Becker, Mesa State

Shortstop: Matt Bodenchuk, Mesa State (unanimous selection)

Third baseman: Yan Gomes, Barry

Outfielder:  Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State (unanimous selection)

Outfielder: Bryan Fogle, Erskine

Outfielder: Jason Fobes, CSU-Pueblo

Outfielder: J.D. Martinez, Nova Southeastern

Utility player: Donovan Huffer, Concord

Designated hitter: Travis Howard, USC Aiken

Starting pitcher: Gabriel Duran, Dowling (unanimous selection)

Starting pitcher: Hayden Simpson, Southern Arkansas (unanimous selection)

Starting pitcher: Chris Armijo, Incarnate Word

Starting pitcher: Dan Wright, Lynn

Relief pitcher:  Shaun Larsen, Southern Indiana

Relief pitcher: Chris Matlock, Central Missouri


Catcher: Ryan Query, Catawba

First baseman: Daniel Kassouf, Belmont Abbey

Second baseman: Cannon Lester, Southern Arkansas

Shortstop: Rich Racobaldo, Mount Olive

Third baseman: Nate Arevalo, Cameron

Outfielder: Matt Cotellese, West Chester

Outfielder: Adam Darby, Harding

Outfielder: Brandon Decker, Valdosta State

Outfielder: Eric Workman, West Virginia State

Utility player: Chris Adamson, Angelo State

Designated hitter: Matt Costello, Valdosta State

Starting pitcher: Nick Fogleman, Pfeiffer

Starting pitcher: Blake Keitzman, Western Oregon

Starting pitcher: Gary Moran, Sonoma State;

Starting pitcher: Ben Watkins, Pitt-Johnstown

Relief pitcher: Brad Rutherford, Abilene Christian

Relief pitcher:  Matt Winterhalter, Northern Kentucky


Catcher: Jordan Schmidt, Abilene Christian

First baseman: Evan McDole, Northern Kentucky

Second baseman: Drew Cross, St. Edward’s

Shortstop: Evan Porter, Nebraska-Omaha

Third baseman: Craig Lyerly, Catawba

Outfielder: Conner Crumbliss, Emporia State

Outfielder: Sam DiMatteo, California (Pa.)

Outfielder: Will Gowdy, Ouachita Baptist

Outfielder: Joe Wendtke, Wayne State (Neb.)

Utility player: Andrew Whittington, Southern Arkansas

Designated hitter: Keith Towne, Angelo State

Starting pitcher: Michael Fiers, Nova Southeastern

Starting pitcher: Darin Gorsky, Kutztown

Starting pitcher: Michael Thompson, Bellarmine

Starting pitcher: Kyle Vasquez, Franklin Pierce

Relief pitcher: John Church, West Florida

Relief pitcher:  Justin Moore, Dominican


Catcher: Chase Blackwood, Valdosta State; Chris Herbert, Concordia-St. Paul

First baseman: Logan Forest, Texas-Permian Basis; Yudelmis Hernandez, Barry; Andrew Kinney, Southwest Minnesota State; Zach Solly, Fairmont State.

Second baseman: Chas Anthony, Erskine; Mike Baillargeon, Assumption; Carlos Leyva, Cal State Dominguez Hills

Shortstop: Vance Albitz, UC San Diego; Shane Busti, California (Pa.); Devin Goodwin, Delta State

Third baseman: David Olson, Minnesota-Duluth; Jacob Petkac, Ashland; Ethan Santora, Mercyhurst; Josh Tanner, UC San Diego

Outfielder: Adam Arakawa, Chico State; Thomas Bumpass, Abilene Christian; Bo Darby, West Virginia State; Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke; Kevin Dusold, Northern Kentucky; Jeff Foltz, Ashland; Cody Holliday, Wilmington; Mark Letchworth, Wingate; J.T. Putt, Regis; Mario Ramirez, Cal State LA; Chance Tuttle, Central Missouri; Derek West, Southwest Minnesota State

Utility player: Tyler Choate, Southern Indiana; Paul-Michael Klingberg, Cal State Dominguez Hills; Alex Koch, Wayne State (Neb.); Phil Messerian, Nyack

Designated hitter: Jason Carr, New Mexico Highlands; Josh Meagher, Chico State; Ben Sondgeroth, Indianapolis

Starting pitcher: Andre Benjamin, Grand Valley State; Brad Bichel, Cameron; Logan Birr, St. Cloud State; Tom Cote, Franklin Pierce; Reece Dodd, Southeastern Oklahoma; Adam Maini, Kutztown; Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke; Ajay Meyer, Ashland; Bret Moyer, West Chester; Max Russell, Florida Southern; Jake Schmidt, Concordia-St. Paul; Tim Shibuya, UC San Diego; Cody Walden, Armstrong Atlantic; Cory White, Indianapolis

Relief pitcher: Rob Currie, Tusculum; Martin DeWald, GCSU; Nathan Kafka, Minnesota State; Guido Knudson, UC San Diego; Rob Nicholas, Franklin Pierce; Kenny Reisinger, Shepherd

Daily Posts

June 2009