Minnesota State Wins Northern Sun Tourney

Minnesota State

Congratulations to the Minnesota State Mavericks who defeated the Wayne State Wildcats (10-9) to capture the 2009 Northern Sun Conference Tournament Championship!

The Mavericks lost their opening game of the D2 college baseball Tourney and then reeled off 5 straight wins through the loser’s bracket to win both the championship and the automatic bid to the NCAA Regional.

Their were 4 Minnesota State players named to the All-Tournament team including Geno Glynn who was named Tournament MVP.  Glynn hit .545, scored 9 runs, hit 2 homers and drove in 10 runs.  Other players selected were –

All-Tournament Team
C: John Plasha-WSC
1B: Travis Taran-MSU
2B: Nick Bidroski-WSC
3B: Geno Glynn-MSU
SS: Eric Sorensen-UIU
OF: Kreston Albirght-UIU
OF: Jake Munsch-SMSU
OF: Derek West-SMSU
UT: Brandon Polk-WSC
P: James Dale-MSU
P: Adam Schrader-SMSU
RP: Josh Costanza-MSU
MVP: Geno Glynn

Minnesota State Claims Tourney Title

WSC Falls to Minnesota State

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Daily Posts

May 2009

%d bloggers like this: