Archive for May 11th, 2009

NCAA D2 College Baseball Field Announced

NCAA Baseball Logo

NCAA D2 Baseball Field Announcement

The NCAA Division II Baseball Committee has selected the 48 teams that will participate in the 2009 NCAA Division II Baseball Championship.

The championship provides for eight regional sites – six sites will host six teams, the West region will host four teams and the South region will host eight teams. All regionals are double-elimination tournaments and will be played at on-campus sites May 14-18. Regional champions will advance to the double-elimination championship finals May 23-30 at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina. The finals will be hosted by Mount Olive College and the town of Cary, North Carolina.

Nineteen conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below:

California Collegiate Athletic Conference – UC San Diego
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference – Wilmington (Delaware)
Conference Carolinas – Belmont Abbey
East Coast Conference – Adelphi
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Grand Valley State
Great Lakes Valley Conference – Northern Kentucky
Gulf South Conference – Southern Arkansas
Heartland Conference – Texas Permian Basin
Lone Star Conference – Abilene Christian
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association – Nebraska-Omaha
Northeast-10 Conference – Franklin Pierce
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference – Minnesota State Mankato
Peach Belt Conference – Francis Marion
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference – West Chester
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference – Colorado State-Pueblo
South Atlantic Conference – Catawba
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Stillman
Sunshine State Conference – Barry
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Shepherd

In the 2008 championship, Mount Olive College captured its first national championship title with a 6-2 victory over Ouachita Baptist University. (Neither team reached the 2009 NCAA Tournament)

This year marks the 42nd annual championship, and the first year that the finals have been held in Cary, North Carolina.

*Denotes host institution

Central Regional at Grand Junction, Colorado
1.*Mesa State 39-13
2.Minnesota State Mankato 38-15
3.Wayne State (Nebraska)42-13
4.New Mexico Highlands 39-18
5.Southwest Minnesota State 27-13
6.Colorado State-Pueblo 39-20

Atlantic Regional at Kutztown, Pennsylvania
1.West Chester 42-10
2.*Kutztown 33-15
3.Shepherd3 3-16
4.Mercyhurst 35-15
5.West Virginia State 31-13
6.Concord 27-13

Midwest Regional at Chillicothe, Ohio
1.*Ashland 41-13-1
2.Grand Valley State 41-13-1
3.Southern Indiana 37-17
4.Northern Kentucky 40-20
5.Indianapolis 40-19
6.Rockhurst 35-21

East Regional at Rindge, New Hampshire
1.Dominican (New York) 37-12
2.*Franklin Pierce 36-16
3.Adelphi 31-14
4.Dowling 30-15
5.Assumption 32-18-1
6.Wilmington (Delware) 27-27

South Regional at Magnolia, Arkansas
1.*Southern Arkansas 49-9
2.Barry 44-9
3.West Alabama 37-14
4.Tampa 38-15
5.Lynn 38-16
6.Florida Southern 38-14
7.Valdosta State 41-19
8.Stillman 35-20

Southeast Regional at Aiken, South Carolina
1.*South Carolina Aiken 39-17
2.Francis Marion 36-13-1
3.Georgia College3 7-17
4.Catawba 35-16
5.Tusculum 36-16
6.Belmont Abbey 34-24

South Central Regional at Warrensburg, Missouri
1.*Central Missouri 41-13
2.Abilene Christian 43-17
3.Angelo State 43-18
4.Emporia State 42-12
5.Nebraska-Omaha 40-18
6.Texas Permian Basin 39-17

West Regional at Keizer, Oregon
1.UC San Diego 36-12
2.*Western Oregon 33-12
3.Sonoma State 32-14
4.Cal State Dominguez Hills 34-21

Minnesota State Wins Northern Sun Tourney

Minnesota State

Congratulations to the Minnesota State Mavericks who defeated the Wayne State Wildcats (10-9) to capture the 2009 Northern Sun Conference Tournament Championship!

The Mavericks lost their opening game of the D2 college baseball Tourney and then reeled off 5 straight wins through the loser’s bracket to win both the championship and the automatic bid to the NCAA Regional.

Their were 4 Minnesota State players named to the All-Tournament team including Geno Glynn who was named Tournament MVP.  Glynn hit .545, scored 9 runs, hit 2 homers and drove in 10 runs.  Other players selected were –

All-Tournament Team
C: John Plasha-WSC
1B: Travis Taran-MSU
2B: Nick Bidroski-WSC
3B: Geno Glynn-MSU
SS: Eric Sorensen-UIU
OF: Kreston Albirght-UIU
OF: Jake Munsch-SMSU
OF: Derek West-SMSU
UT: Brandon Polk-WSC
P: James Dale-MSU
P: Adam Schrader-SMSU
RP: Josh Costanza-MSU
MVP: Geno Glynn

Minnesota State Claims Tourney Title

WSC Falls to Minnesota State

Daily Posts

May 2009