Northern Sun Baseball Blog Expanding Reach

Starting a new baseball blog was driven by an interest in Northern Sun Baseball but also by a need to “get with” the new generation of communication out there.  I’ve always been driven by an interest to learn new things so researching and using blogging tools, search engine optimization and how to publicize your blog is interesting stuff to me.  Yesterday I added new options to make it easier to subscribe to this blog in a newsreader or subscribe via a daily e-mail (check top right corner).

Beyond that though, I also wanted to move into the realm of social networking.  So I activated a long dormant Facebook account and have been adding accounts for things like Digg, Technorati, Delicious and BlogCatalog.  Most adults think of Facebook as a college connection tool but I’m learning about it’s power to connect me to family and friends and see that almost everyone could benefit.

Finally, that leads me to Twitter.  For those that aren’t familiar with Twitter it’s the next evolution of social networking.  The best definition I’ve seen to describe it is “a social networking utility for staying connected in real time”.  It takes you from Facebook which connects you every time you are at your computer and moves to real time connection, especially when combined with mobile devices.  The best use I’ve seen actually is many congressmen are using it to update members on legislation multiple times per day – Tweet Congress

For the time being, I have set up a Twitter account under the username – D2Baseball.  I’ve also linked my blog to it so basically every 30 minutes it will feed any blog post to Twitter in order for subscribers to see my updates.  These can be accessed via mobile phone or e-mail.

There’s a whole world out there but these connection tools are bringing us closer together all the time.

0 Responses to “Northern Sun Baseball Blog Expanding Reach”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Daily Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

